Wednesday, June 8, 2011

CFDA Fashion Awards 2011

Last night the Council of Fashion Designers of America paid tribute to the winners and honorees of the 2011 CFDA Fashion Awards at Lincoln Center, NYC, with CNN anchor Anderson Cooper hosting the evening. Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez (Proenza Schouler) received the award for Womenswear Designer of the Year, the Menswear Designer of the Year award went to Michael Bastian and Alexander Wang took home the Accessory Designer of the Year award. For the tenth year in a row, the evening was underwritten by Swarovski. Karolina Kurkova presented the three Swarovski Awards which honor and recognize emerging talent. The Swarovski Award for Womenswear was given to Prabal Gurung, the Swarovski Award for Menswear was presented to Robert Geller and the Swarovski Award for Accessory Design went to Eddie Borgo. Recipients in each category will receive financial support as well as exposure to the company's vast and innovative crystal products and applications for fashion. In celebration of Swarovski's decade of supporting the CFDA Fashion Awards, 21 past recipients of the Swarovski Awards for emerging talent, now top names in the industry, appeared on stage to honor Swarovski's nurturing of young American designers. During the tribute, Diane Von Fürstenberg, president of the CFDA, was on hand personally to bestow Nadja Swarovski with a dazzling Swarovski crystal-embellished Trova Award, handcrafted especially for her by designer Philip Crangi.
The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Marc Jacobs by Sofia Coppola for his consistent, creative influence on fashion. Lady Gaga was the recipient of The Fashion Icon Award and Phoebe Philo of Céline was recognized with this year's International Award. The Media Award for excellence in journalism, originally created in honor of Eugenia Sheppard, was presented to Hilary Alexander of The Telegraph by Michael Kors. Photographer Arthur Elgort was bestowed the Board of Director's Special Tribute Award, presented by Vogue's Grace Coddington for his indelible contribution to fashion over the years.